Cute as a button

style stories- Louis Vuitton Graffiti

Reading all the controversy about Victoria Beckham carrying a counterfeit Louis Vuitton bag once upon another life made Ms Button raise a wry smile. And not because ironically posh spice seemed the most real whilst touting a fake.

The handbag at the centre of it all is from the same series that Ms Button fell in love with at the tender age of 16- the 2001 collaboration between the late Stephen Sprouse and Marc Jacobs.

Whilst other girls were misguidedly swooning over Duncan James as Blue burst onto the scene, I was cutting out pictures of Alma. Or the Louis Vuitton Stephen Sprouse 2001 Graffiti Alma Long to give her the full title. It was the first designer handbag that entered into my subconscious and they do say that you never forget your first love…

Only 1000 of each style and colour of this range were ever made. These exclusive pieces of fashion history transcended the fine line between fashion and art. I was captivated. I never forgot her.

Fast forward a decade or so and I had my moment. Through a popular auction sales website, I came across a lady that was forced to sell her extensive and pristine LV collection after an acrimonious, bankrupting divorce. Of course, there was only one piece that I had my eye on. This was it! (Being responsible, I ensured it was 100% genuine before parting with any money.)

Here she is, my Alma. Well worth the wait. She was everything a young button dreamed she would be and more.

As yet, Marc Jacobs hasn’t called to extend me the arm of friendship…but I’d be more than willing to climb into a carrier bag should the occasion call for it!

IMG_0532 IMG_0495 007-small-562x960
What do you think? Should we button it?

